Kinesiology and Exercise Science

Physical education is the sum of all those changes that take place in individuals as the result of movement experience. The principal objectives of this department are as follows: (1) to develop the students’ neuromuscular skill and organic system through movement experiences, (2) to increase the students’ knowledge, insight, understanding and interest in movement experiences and (3) to improve the students’ recreational and leisure -time skills as well as their standards of behavior in these selected movement areas.

Since movement is the medium through which this department achieves its objectives, students have several opportunities to select those movement experiences that will best contribute to their well-being, their leisure-time skills and to their total educational development. The physical education department offers three options for the associate degree.

Links

Kinesiology and Exercise Science Courses

Course of Study for Associate in Science Degree – Kinesiology: Physical & Health Education Teaching & Coaching

Contact

Dr. James J. Bolton
Department Chair, Sciences

Biography
Office: Wood Building 320
Phone: 432-335-6738
E-mail: jbolton@odessa.edu

Jon Staton 
Associate Department Chair of Kinesiology, Assistant Professor
Biography
Office: Sports Center 201B
Phone: 432.335.6563
Email: jstaton@odessa.edu

Tra Arnold 
Men's Basketball Coach
Office: Sports Center B-24
Phone: 432.335.6875
Email: tarnold@odessa.edu

Ara Baten 
Women's Basketball Coach
Office: Sports Center B-26
Phone: 432.335.6566
Email: abaten@odessa.edu

Paul Chavez 
Golf Coach
Office: Champions Golf Course
Phone: 432-362-2557
Email: pchavez@odessa.edu

Jeff Kelly 
Athletic Trainer
Office: Sports Center B-3
Phone: 432.335.6570
Email: jkelly@odessa.edu

Joel Prickett 
Softball Coach
Office: Sports Center 204
Phone: 432.335.6793
Email: jprickett@odessa.edu

Logan Parker 
Assistant Baseball Coach
Office: Sports Center B5
Phone: 432.335.6352
Email: lparker@odessa.edu

Kristi Gray 
Women's Head Volleyball Coach & Spirit Squad Coordinator
Office: Sports Center 
Phone: 432.335.6573
Email: kgray@odessa.edu

Cate Walsh 
Physical Education/Head Cross Country & Track Coach

Biography
Office: Sports Center 
Phone: 432.335.6566

Email: cwalsh@odessa.edu