Language and World Cultures

Language makes us human, not only raising us above a mere animal-like existence but also allowing us to create societies and culture by shaping and controlling our thought. Language is fundamental not only to our survival and progress but also to the form of our literary creations; it reflects the heritage and dignity of the human condition. The Language and World Cultures department, therefore, is committed to providing comprehensive instruction in composition, literature, humanities, ESOL, and Spanish. We strive to create the finest educational opportunities possible for students who have the desire to learn. Specifically, the department provides the first two years of English and pre-professional courses for transfer students, occupational/technical writing courses for students in specialized vocational fields, developmental and general education to prepare students for the TSIA and other state-approved alternate tests and higher level writing and critical thinking skills, courses to meet various community needs, and opportunities for personal enrichment. In sum, the Language and World Cultures department offers excellence in its courses, services and practices. It affirms equal access for all individuals within the diverse student population and approaches all endeavors with the highest standards of ethics and professionalism.

Links

Langauge and World Culture Courses

Course of Study for Associate in Arts Degree – English Major

Course of Study for Associate in Arts Degree  Foreign Language (Spanish) Major

Contact

Arthur Rankin
Interim Department Chair, Language and World Cultures
Office: SPUR 236
Phone: 432-335-6544
E-mail: arankin@odessa.edu

Almudena Auguirre-Romero
Spanish/ESOL/ENGL
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 133
Phone: 432-335-6547
E-mail: maguirre@odessa.edu

Julie Roth
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 121
Phone: 432-335-6572
E-mail: jroth@odessa.edu

Jay Schwarz
Humanities/Sociology
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 124
Phone: 432-335-6554
E-mail: jschwarz@odessa.edu

Donna Smith
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 136
Phone: 432-335-6548
E-mail: dsmith@odessa.edu

Melissa Wells
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 122
Phone: 432-335-6483
E-mail: mwells@odessa.edu

Anthony "Tony" Buenning
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 127
Phone: 432-335-6692
E-mail: abuenning@odessa.edu

Laura Holder
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 124
Phone: 432-335-6551
E-mail: lholder@odessa.edu

Marshalla Hutson
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 120
Phone: 432-335-6585
E-mail: mhuston@odessa.edu

Mark Jordan
English
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 135
Phone: 432-335-6549
E-mail: mjordan@odessa.edu

Michelle Yarbrough
English/Reading
Office: Wilkerson Hall (WH) 128
Phone: 432-335-6609
E-mail: myarbrough@odessa.edu